How Did This Happen to Me?

My daily devotional focused on this passage today, “How did this happen to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me?”  Luke 1:43

Often, I ponder the first notion, “How did this happen to me?”

When Mister leaves for a five-day business trip and I’m home alone with a baby and a toddler a gazillion miles from family, I think, “How did this happen to me?” 

When I step in a puddle of mystery liquid on the kitchen floor, I first think, “water or urine?”  Then I think, “How did this happen to me?”

When Bunder naps 50 minutes instead of his normal 2 -3 hours and then follows me around the house crying/whining/ throwing a tantrum the rest of the day, I think, “How did this happen to me?”

While Mister is gone on his business trip and I’m taking both kids out of the bath, Kiki starts crying because she’s naked, wet, cold, and ready for bed.   Bunder screams because he’s naked, wet, cold, tired, and impatient for Team Umizoomi to start on the TV, but it can’t start on the TV because the dish decides at the most opportune time to lose its signal.  I try to change the input on the TV, find a DVD, start the DVD player while squatting on the floor holding the crying, wet, cold, tired Kiki, but I can’t find a DVD because they’re in the car in the DVD case from our last road trip.  So I try to open a new Thomas DVD, but I can’t because the packaging masterminds make DVDs IMPOSSIBLE to open with their cellophane wrapping and tape across TWO sides of the DVD case (seriously, no one’s going to poison my DVD – did I mention I’m holding a naked, crying baby?).  I think, “How did this happen to me?”

When I’m driving down the road, and Bunder is engaging his eight- month old sister in conversation, “Kiki, see trees?  Kiki, green trees?   Kiki, blue truck?  Kiki, cars fast.  Kiki, love you.”, I think, “How did this happen to me?”

When I’m nursing Kiki and Bunder sits on my footstool, lifts up his shirt, holds Bear to his chest, and says, “Bear’s hungry.  Bear’s drinking milk.”, I think, How did this happen to me?” 

When Kiki – all chubby and rolly-polly starts giggling uncontrollably in the bathtub making Bunder laugh hysterically, I think, “How did this happen to me?” 

Motherhood is chaotic (to say the least), and yet I can’t help believing it’s the chaos that makes the joyful moments full of joy. 

How did this happen to me?  Who knows?  But I’m sure glad it did.       

About Mother Ruckus

Living the dream of motherhood and hoping to survive. View all posts by Mother Ruckus

Leave a Reply

