When Life Gives You Lemons…

When life gives me lemons, I make lemon loaf.

Yesterday, I woke up on the wrong side of the bed.  Maybe that’s because Bunder awoke at 4:15 a.m. and refused to go back to sleep.  For me, it’s difficult to wake up chipper and optimistic before five (let alone four flippin’ fifteen).

In my weary, groggy state, I thought – it’s only Wednesday – another three entire days before the weekend.  It’s hot, so, unbearably hot – the weather report said it‘d be the hottest week of the year – 100 degrees or higher every day.  It’s the end of July in Texas.  We have another two or three months left of summer.  Moreover, my car is being repaired which means I’m stuck at the house again today.  Alternatively, I can take Mister’s car with the air conditioning that he says works fine, but I can tell by the pool of sweat on my lower back that it’s not working fine.

After an hour or two of sulking, drinking coffee, and a pep talk from my hubby, I started to make lemon loaf.  Well, figuratively at first…

Some S.A.H.M.’s (stay at home moms) take anti-depressants to combat the stress, monotony, and sheer exhaustion of our jobs.  I like to try a more natural approach: chocolate, red wine, Starbucks, close girlfriends, a long run with good tunes on the iPod (or a short run if it’s 90 degrees outside at 7 a.m.), chocolate, red wine, prayer, baking, and last but not least chocolate and red wine.

By lunchtime, I felt much better after indulging in most of my “natural” anti-depressants.  Mister watched the kids while I ran (albeit in the heat – I did have good tunes).  Afterward, I loaded Bunder and Kiki in Mister’s car (he had parked in the garage for me, so it wasn’t too terribly hot).  We drove through Starbucks for a grande decaf skinny hazelnut latte, and hung out at the pool with my beloved Mommy friends.

After counting my blessings during naptime, I made lemon loaf (literally).  Bunder helped, of course.

What’s your favorite “natural” antidepressant?  Please share!

Bunder is saying, "Mommy, look, I'm mixing brownies."

About Mother Ruckus

Living the dream of motherhood and hoping to survive. View all posts by Mother Ruckus

7 responses to “When Life Gives You Lemons…

  • Susy

    hmmmm…. favorite natural anti-depressant…. It depends on where I am.

    If I’m in Wisconsin I enjoy some alone time reading, getting a pedicure (luxury), or chatting with friends on facebook.

    If I’m on Eleuthera I use snorkeling, floating and drinking cocktails with friends to lick my proverbial wounds.

    Of course… no matter where I am there is always Seamen… I mean semen….. : )

    • Mother Ruckus

      Thanks, Susy, for sharing! I love my alone time reading – that’s one I forgot. I can’t imagine snorkeling in the Bahamas. Hopefully, I’ll get to experience that in a few years.

  • Liz

    OMG – I love your blog posts! Too funny. When my kids are driving me nuts I stick them in the tub until their fingers are like prunes and I sit alongside them surfing blogs on my iPad. Otherwise, going with the lemon theme, I end up having a Diet Coke with a splash of Bacardi Limon…. makes me sound like an alcoholic. Well, I’m not one because alcoholics go to meetings.

    • Mother Ruckus

      Liz, I agree – bath time is wonderful (especially if I’m the one taking a bath – alone – with a good book). Thanks for sharing!

  • Airielle

    I love your blogs!! I would have to say running (or any form of working out) and coffee. I am actually addicted to coffee drinks…you don’t want to see me on a day without it…

  • Airielle

    I did the Lighthouse Run in June…it felt good…but I wasn’t too happy with my time!! I haven’t been running as much as I would like (it’s my own fault)! We bought that Insanity Workout (off the TV LOL) …it’s pretty good. So you’ll never guess who is moving down to third grade to teach with me…Samantha Petersen ;).

Leave a comment