Primary Method of Torture

Bunder fast asleep in his big bed (finally)

Little kids, little problems.  Big kids, big problems.

We’ve all heard this saying, usually from someone with “big” children.  I think it’s hogwash.  Here’s why:

1.  Sleep deprivation is a primary method of torture used around the world.  Why?  According to Marian Houk, it “induces severe harm causing people to feel crazy.”

It’s been almost a year since Kiki entered this world, but I certainly remember the sleepless nights, the anxiety it produced, and the dark thoughts of, “Will I ever sleep again?”  Crazy indeed!

2.  Bad memories fade faster, because our brains have a bias toward remembering the past in a positive light according to Psychology Today.

Those parents with big kids have simply forgotten how incredibly torturous it was to have little people interfering with their most basic and important bodily functions, such as sleep.

3.  I have three grown or practically grown stepchildren, so I’ve experienced both ends of the spectrum.  Parenting older children requires a much different skill set; they’re taxing emotionally and mentally.   Young children are physically demanding.  If my kids are awake, they need my attention or they’re actually on me, nursing from me, standing at my feet, or yelling at me from across the room.  (I jump for joy on Saturdays and Sundays when I have the privilege of using the bathroom ALONE.  I know – T.M.I.)

Good news!  The torture is over at our house (for the time being).  Kiki at eleven and a half months is sleeping without a peep from 6:45 p.m. to 5:15 a.m. thanks to the book recommended by Dr. Joe.  Bunder has successfully transitioned to his big bed.  And when I say “successfully” I mean some nights he falls fast asleep, other nights he comes out of his room twenty times, cries, falls asleep ninety minutes after bedtime only to wake up at 4:15 a.m.

But on those nights when both children sleep peacefully, it’s a dream – pure bliss!  Sleep, oh sleep, how do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.

Now if I can just train myself to sleep through the night…

About Mother Ruckus

Living the dream of motherhood and hoping to survive. View all posts by Mother Ruckus

4 responses to “Primary Method of Torture

  • Haley

    Thanks for this! I swear the sleep issue is the most discussed, most annoying and aggravating and most common issue in our household…and baby #2 isn’t even here yet!

    • Mother Ruckus

      Haley, you’re right! Sleep is a major issue. We can’t live without it! You’ll be surprised at how everyone will adjust once your second baby arrives. Let’s face it – no other option exists!

  • londonchoirgirl

    I have friends who have said that parenting would be against the Geneva Convention if someone tried to introduce it today! Good luck with getting some rest

    • Mother Ruckus

      I agree – parenting can be extremely difficult and rewarding all at once. Right now, my whole house is napping, and I feel like I could take on the world! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

