Don’t wear your jacket – see what I care!

Where did Bunder go while napping today?  What happened to my pleasant, good-natured, talkative two and half year old?  Upon waking, why did he spend all of his time in the “I will disagree with everything you say even when you agree with me” phase?

After much crying and cuddling, this conversation ensued.

Me:        Bunder, would you like a snack?

B:            NO!!! (cry, sob, hiccup breathing)

Me:        Would you like some milk?

B:            NO!!! (cry some more, hiccup breathing)

Me:        Would you like to read a story?

B:            NO!!! (cry harder)

Me:        Would you like to go for a walk?

B:            okay (regular breathing)

Me:        Great!  Let’s take Lu-lu for a walk.

B:            (cry, sob, scream) I CAN’T WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        Ooooh.  It’s chilly outside.  You’ll be cold if you don’t wear your coat.

B:            (hiccup breathing, cry)  I CAN’T WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        I understand you don’t want to wear your COAT, but everyone is wearing a coat because it’s cold outside.  Brrrr!

B:            (between sobs)  I CAN’T WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        Okay.  You don’t have to wear your coat.   You might be cold without a coat.

B:            (hiccup breathing, cry)  I CAN’T WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        That’s fine.  You don’t have to wear your coat.

B:           (between sobs)  I CAN’T WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        Let’s go for a walk.  You don’t have to wear your coat.

B:            (almost hyperventilating)  I CAN’T WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        (wanting to pull my hair out but using my sweetest, singsong teacher voice) Okay.  You don’t have to wear a coat.

B:            (cry harder) I WANT TO WEAR MY COAT!

Me:        That’s a good idea.  You’ll be much warmer wearing your coat.

B:            I CAN’T WEAR MY HAT!

Me:        Okay.  You don’t have to wear your hat.

B:            I CAN’T WEAR MY HAT!

I won’t continue this, but surely you can imagine the direction it’s headed.  Am I surprised that Bunder insisted on wearing his hat (only after I left it at the house)?  Of course not.  Ah, the joy of motherhood!

About Mother Ruckus

Living the dream of motherhood and hoping to survive. View all posts by Mother Ruckus

2 responses to “Don’t wear your jacket – see what I care!

Leave a Reply

