Mad Gab, the Toddler Version

Oh, what are the games that Baby plays

With those who love his baby ways? 

I’ve read these lines many times over to Bunder and Kiki as the first page in the story, Play with Me by Esther Wilkin.  Somehow, these stanzas kept playing in my head as I returned to bed at 12:47 a.m.

At 12:39 a.m., I awake with a start to Bunder screaming from his bed.  Groggily, I make my way across the house to his bedroom.  The house feels cold compared to my soft, warm spot under the goose-down comforter next to Mister.

As soon as Bunder sees me, he begins yelling something unintelligible through sobs.

“It’s okay.  It’s okay.  It was just a bad dream,” I try to soothe.

“NOOO!!! “  He shrieks louder, “I wanna blah, blah, blee!”

I have no idea what he’s saying.  Therefore, I attempt to use logical reason based on experiences to construct my best hypothesis.  All of which is very difficult to do in the middle of the night with a two-year old bawling in my ear.  The game of Mad Gab –Toddler Version begins…

“You have to go pee?”

“NOOOOO!!!  More screeching and crying, “I wanna blah, blah, blee!”

“You want to brush your teeth?”

“NOOOOO!!!  Blah, blah, blah, blee!”

“You bit your cheek?”

“NOOOOO!!!  Blah, blah, blah, blee!”

“You want some cheese?”

“NOOOOO!!!  Blah, blah, blah, blee!”

Clearly, Bunder is winning this round.  I can barely make out the last word ending in a long e sound.   I throw in the towel, offer him a sippy cup of water, and pray he goes back to sleep.

Oh, what are the games that Baby plays

With those who love his baby ways? 

Kiki has a fun game.  It goes something like this…

Look what I found lying on the ground.  Is it an acorn, a berry, or dog poop?

Now you see it!

Now you don’t!

Oh, what are the games that Baby plays

With those who love his baby ways? 

About Mother Ruckus

Living the dream of motherhood and hoping to survive. View all posts by Mother Ruckus

2 responses to “Mad Gab, the Toddler Version

Leave a Reply

